top of page

The Crucifixion was never like this...


I really love the original album for Jesus Christ Superstar. Not the Ted Neely movie soundtrack; I'm talking about the one before that, with Murray Head as Judas and Deep Purple's Ian Gillan as Jesus, belting out primal screams that gave Roger Daltrey a run for his money. It's also a good play, and I was fortunate enough to catch a revival a few years ago, this time with Corey Glover of Living Colour taking the role of Judas and damn near bringing the house down.

So, when my friend Angelica Rosenthal commissioned me to come up with a poster for her upcoming production of JC, I immediately agreed. However, there was a catch. No Roman fonts, no crosses on a hill, none of the traditional trappings. "Barbed wire", she said. "The anarchy symbol, spray painted over the poster. And can I get some bloodstains?" Yeah, Angelica's more into the American Idiot type of musical than Oklahoma. Think Snake Plissken parachuting into New York to save the President, but staying for a Broadway show.

And here's the result. It should be a great show. I've been advised that the production team has already raided a going-out-of-business store for all of their headless mannequins. The crown of thorns? "LED displays --- you'll see it all the way in the back row."

Tickets available at actorsingers.org. See you there!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page